नास्तिक (heterodox)

My name is Ramesh and this is my personal blog.

Gaza conflict

with 2 comments

Washington Post, Letters to the editor, Saturday, January 10, 2009; Page A11

On Jan. 1 and 2, you ran op-eds by four authors — Charles Krauthammer, Michael Gerson, Ephraim Sneh and Robert J. Lieber — all coming down solidly and uncompromisingly on Israel’s side in the current situation. Maybe a wise, objective and well-informed judge would conclude that the preponderance of right is on Israel’s side. I don’t know; I am not wise or objective, and I don’t have all the facts.

I am a 73-year-old Jew living in comfort in America. Yet I can understand that if I were a 20-year-old in Gaza, hearing how my grandparents once had a decent life in what is now Israel, I might take a rejectionist position and be for Hamas. You should strive for balance.

— John Levy
St. Michaels, Md.

9 January: A cluster bomb disperses hundreds of bomblets in the northern Gaza Strip.

gallery-gaza-conflict-day-003

From the wikipedia article on Cluster munitions

A varying proportion of submunitions dispersed by cluster bombs fail to explode on impact and can lie untouched for years until disturbed. The sometimes brightly colored munitions are not camouflaged, but have been compared to toys or Easter eggs, attracting interest from children at play. Human rights activists claim that one in four casualties resulting from submunitions that fail to explode on impact are children who often pick up and play with the explosive canisters well after the conflict has ended. The 2006 Lebanon War provided momentum for the campaign to ban cluster bombs. The United Nations estimated that up to 40% of Israeli cluster bomblets failed to explode on impact.

Of course, there is an international treaty, Convention on Cluster Munitions (CCM), that prohibits the use of cluster bombs. Predictably, several major producers of cluster munitions including the US, Russia, China, India, Pakistan and Brazil have NOT signed the Convention.

Sometime in 2008: The remnants of Qassam rockets that were fired from the Gaza Strip at Israel.

Written by Ramesh

January 10, 2009 at 11:11 pm

Posted in war

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. YAA Adding this to my bookmarks. Thank You

    black high heel shoes

    June 14, 2009 at 10:41 am

  2. Ramesh, I would like to use one of the photos on this page to accompany a poem on a website created by my writing group. I would be happy to credit you for the photo. You can see our website (but not this particular poem which I haven’t posted yet) at http://www.eggmoneypoets.org, and if you email me I’ll send you the poem so you can see if you think it would be appropriate. Thank you!

    Susanna

    May 26, 2010 at 6:39 am


Leave a Reply

